There's so much good jazz being recorded around the world....a lot of it on small labels....and yet it rarely gets airplay. JAZZ it's own small way....tries to put that right!

JAZZ TODAY is a fortnightly radio show on Cambridge105. It is broadcast live in Cambridge UK on 105FM and online at Cambridge105.FM.

JAZZ TODAY ONLINE is a quarterly cloudcast of some of the best tracks to appear on JAZZ TODAY.

Sunday, 19 April 2015

Playlist - April 19th 2015

Wildflower: Blues for Wayne from Wildflower (Jellymould)
Joakim Berghall: Vernissage from Dialogues II (BoulderMusic)
Joakim Berghall: Virtauksia II: Tavallinen Virtanen from Dialogues II (Boulder Music)
Allan Browne, Marc Hannaford & Sam Anning: Bemsha Swing from Shreveport Stomp (Jazzhead)
Carlo Alberto Canevali: Your I.D. from Conduction 3 (nBn)
Daniel Herskedal: Rainfall from Slow Eastbound Train (Edition)
Jon Lundbom & Big Five Chord: First Harvest from Jeremiah (Hot Cup)
Pete Newman’s Clarinet Project: Fog of Phwoar from Time for Your Bathysphere (self-released)
Emilia Martensson: Black Narcissus from Ana (Babel)
Avishai Cohen’s Triveni: Goodbye Pork Pie Hat from Dark Nights (Anzic)
Daniele Cavallanti & The Milano Contemporary Art Ensemble: Chief Crazy Horse from Sounds of Hope (Rudi)
Myra Melford: Night of Sorrow from Snowy Egret (Enja Yellowbird)
Alexander Hawkins Trio: Sweet Duke from Alexander Hawkins Trio (Alexander Hawkins Music)
Atomic: A McGuffins Tale from Lucidity (Jazzland)
Esben Brandt: Three Melodies from Constants (Gateway)

(Intro – Stephane Huchard: Jakawa Jungle Spoon from Toutakoosticks (Blue Note))

Monday, 13 April 2015

Jazz Today - Sunday 19th April at 4pm BST on Cambridge105

Jazz from Finland to Australia, including the piano of Marc Hannaford, the guitar of Jon Lundbom, the trumpet of Avishai Cohen and the saxophone of Joakim Berghall. We have new albums from the quintet Atomic, the Milano Contemporary Art Ensemble led by Daniele Cavallanti and jazz from Cambridge from Pete Newman’s Clarinet Project! Plus much more. And halfway through the show Pete will be running through the jazz gigs coming up in the city over the next couple of months.
Listen HERE at 4pm BST.

Sunday, 22 March 2015

Playlist - March 22nd 2015

Verneri Pohjola: Bullhorn from Bullhorn (Edition)
Paul van Kemenade’s Three Horns and a Bass: In a Certain Mood from In a Certain Mood (self-released)
Daniele D’Agaro, Aldo Mella & Elio Rivagli: Elda Olio from Bangalore (Ninety and Nine)
Deniss Pashkevich & Christian Frank: In Three from Close (Gateway Music)
Deniss Pashkevich & Christian Frank: Circle from Close (Gateway Music)
Subtone: C.E.A. from Morningside (Enja)
Eliana Cuevas: Lamento from Espejo (Alma)
Ornithopter: Alioth from Ornithopter (self-released)
Uli Datler Trio: I Miss You Too from A Dancing Shape (Cracked Anegg)
Brian Kellock: Thingin’ from The Nine Mile Burn Sessions (Thick-Skinned)
XY Quartet: Astronautilo from XY (
Olie Brice Quintet: What Might Have Been from Immune to Clockwork (Multikulti Project)
Chris Lightcap’s Bigmouth: Epicenter from Epicenter (Clean Feed)
Ben Goldberg: Reading from Orphic Machine (BAGProductions / Royal Potato Family)
Ornithopter: Hopkins from Ornithopter (self-released)
Rotem Sivan Trio: Blossom from For Emotional Use Only (Fresh Sound New Talent)
Subtone: Smolyan from Morningside (Enja)

Sunday, 25 January 2015

2014 El Intruso International Critics Poll

It was an honour to be asked again to contribute to the El Intruso International Critics Poll. My selection featured musicians from 14 countries! Full results HERE.

Sunday, 14 December 2014

Playlist - Dec14th 2014

Paul Giallorenzo’s Gitgo: Roscoe Far I from Force Majeure (Delmark)
Elliot Galvin Trio: Blues from Dreamland (Chaos Collective)
Whahay: Goodbye Pork Pie Hat from Whahay (Babel)
Friends & Neighbors: Bolehogda from Hymn for a Hungry Nation (Clean Feed)
Grzegorz Karnas Trio feat. Miklos Lukacs: The Ballad of Revenge from Vanga (BMC)
Jacob Anderskov: Spring in B from Strings, Percussion & Piano (ILK)
Ron Miles: Circuit Rider from Circuit Rider (Enja Yellowbird)
Benoit Delbecq Unit: Yompa from Now’s the Time III (Babel)
Ken Aldcroft’s Convergence Ensemble: Section IV from Tangent - For Eric Dolphy (Trio)
Emanuele Parrini: Rosmosis from Are You Ready? (Rudi)
The Grip: Nails from Celebrate (Slowfoot)
Max Nagl, Herwig Gradischnig, Peter Herbert & Michael Vatcher: Dragged a Comb Across My Head from A Day in My Life (Handsemmel / Cracked Anegg)
Jacob Anderskov: Waldhorn from Strings, Percussion & Piano (ILK)
Tineke Postma & Greg Osby: Facets from Sonic Halo (Challenge)
Side A: The Measure of the Height from In the Abstract (Not Two)
Sandra Hempel 4-tett: Lagrima from Licht Aus (Unit)
Brass Danse Orchestra: Un Poco Tango from La Danse du Souffle (Yolk)

(Intro – Stephane Huchard: Jakawa Jungle Spoon from Toutakoosticks (BlueNote))

Sunday, 30 November 2014

Playlist - Nov 30th 2014

Piotr Lemanczyk Quartet North: Baltic Dance from Baltic Dance (Soliton)
Mediums: Mediums from Mediums (Label LaBuissonne)
Porta Palace Collective: Old Fashioned from Porta Palace Collective (Rudi)
Havard Wiik, Michael Thieke & Antonio Borghini: 29 from Der Lange Schatten (Lost Opportunities)
New Crosscurrents 6: Crosscurrent from Live Bimhuis Amsterdam (Driff)
Federico Casagrande: Maybe Not This Time from At The End of The Day (CAM Jazz)
Admiral Awesome: Untitled Bornesang from Makeout Music for Modern Lovers! (Gateway)
Bela Szakcsi Lakatos: Soul Bell (We Are All Brothers) from Climate Change (BMC)
Achim Kaufmann & Michael Moore: The Happenings from Furthermore (Ramboy)
Stan Tracey Quintet: Bouncing Bertha from The Flying Pig (Resteamed)
Jean-Marc Foltz: Kalasasaya from Viracochas (VisionFugitive)
Jean-Marc Foltz: Qhapaq Nan from Viracochas (Vision Fugitive)
Wadada Leo Smith: Lake Erie from The Great Lakes Suites (TUM)
Max Nagl, Herwig Gradischnig, Peter Herbert & Michael Vatcher: After Hours from A Day in My Life (Handsemmel /Cracked Anegg)
Maciej Fortuna Trio: For Alice from At Home (Fortuna Music)
Admiral Awesome: Chanson l’Amour de la Suede from Makeout Music for Modern Lovers! (Gateway)

Sunday, 16 November 2014

Playlist - Nov 16th 2014

Sun Trio: Old Devil’s Boogie from In the Dreamworld (CAM Jazz)
Viktor Toth Arura Trio: Remember the Hatseller from The Present (BMC)
Nels Cline & Julian Lage: Whispers from Eve from Room (Mack Avenue)
Nels Cline & Julian Lage: Odd End from Room (Mack Avenue)
Girls in Airports: Kaikoura from Kaikoura (GatewayMusic)
Olie Brice Quintet: The Old Yedidia from Immune to Clockwork (Multikulti Project)
Brass Danse Orchestra: Milonga de me Amore from La Danse du Souffle (Yolk)
Arun Ghosh: Sufi Stomp from A South Asian Suite (Camoci)
Cloudmakers Trio: Angular Momentum from Abstract Forces (Whirlwind Recordings)
Viktor Toth Arura Trio: The Cat and the Moon from The Present (BMC)
Piero Bittolo Bon & Jump the Shark: Schrodinger’s Sofa Bed from Iuvenes, Doom + Sumus (El Gallo Rojo)
Mediums: La Femme Sans Corps from Mediums (LabelLa Buissonne)
For Free Hands: Meeting of Good Thoughts from Kaleidoscope Freedom (Laika)
Sun Trio: Sightseeing from In the Dreamworld (CAM Jazz)
Ron Miles: Two Kinds of Blues from Circuit Rider (Enja Yellowbird)
Estafest: Eno Supo from Eno Supo (Challenge)
Louis Moholo-Moholo Quartet: Angel-Nomali from 4 Blokes (Ogun)

(Intro – Stephane Huchard: Jakawa Jungle Spoon from Toutakoosticks (Blue Note))